Grouse are from the order Galliformes which inhabit temperate and subarctic regions of the northern hemisphere. They are considered to be game birds and are sometimes hunted for food.

Males are often polygamous, and many species have elaborate courtship displays. These heavily built birds have legs feathered to the toes. Most species are year-round residents, and do not migrate.

These birds feed mainly on vegetable food, but will also feed on insects, especially when feeding young.

This group is related to other members of the gamebird family as follows.


  • Family Megapodidae: mound-builders
  • Family Cracidae: chachalacas, guans and curassows
  • Family Tetraonidae
    • Siberian Grouse, Falcipennis falcipennis
    • Spruce Grouse, Falcipennis canadensis
    • Blue Grouse, Dendragapus obscurus
    • Willow Grouse (Willow Ptarmigan in North America), Lagopus lagopus
    • Red Grouse, L. l. scoticus
    • Ptarmigan (Rock Ptarmigan in North America), Lagopus mutus
    • White-tailed Ptarmigan, Lagopus leucurus
    • Eurasian Black Grouse, Tetrao tetrix
    • Caucasian Black Grouse, Tetrao mlokosiewiczi
    • Capercaillie, Tetrao urogallus
    • Black-billed Capercaillie, Tetrao parvirostris
    • Hazel Grouse, Bonasa bonasia
    • Severtzov’s Grouse, Bonasa sewerzowi
    • Ruffed Grouse, Bonasa umbellus
    • Sage Grouse, Centrocercus urophasianus
    • Gunnison Sage Grouse, Centrocercus minimus
    • Sharp-tailed Grouse, Tympanuchus phasianellus
    • Greater Prairie Chicken, Tympanuchus cupido
    • Lesser Prairie Chicken Tympanuchus pallidicinctus
  • Family Phasianidae: partridges, pheasants, quail, and allies
  • Family Odontophoridae: New World quail
  • Family Numididae: guineafowl
  • Family Meleagrididae: turkeys
  • Family Mesitornithidae: mesites