Serpens Constellation

Serpens Constellation — Serpens (the snake) is one of the 88 modern constellations, and was also one of the 48 listed by Ptolemy.

Among the modern constellations it is unique in being split into two pieces, Serpens Caput (representing the head of the snake) to the west and Serpens Cauda (representing the tail) to the east.

Between these two pieces lies the constellation of Ophiuchus, the serpent bearer.

Notable features

Since Serpens is regarded as being one constellation despite being split into two halves, the ordering of Bayer designations goes in order of brightness among both constellations.

Only one of the stars in Serpens is brighter than third magnitude, so the constellation is not easy to perceive. α Serpentis, named Unukalhai, is in Caput. δ Serpentis, also in Caput, is a double star only 27 light-years from Earth. θ Serpentis, in Cauda, is also double.

Stars in Caput include α, β, γ, δ, ε, ι, κ, λ, μ, π, ρ, σ, τ, χ and ω Serpentis. Stars in Cauda include ζ, η, θ, ν, ξ, and ο Serpentis.

Notable deep-sky objects

M5, a globular cluster approximately 8 southwest of α Serpentis in Caput, is among the most beautiful in the sky.

Part of the Milky Way passes through Serpens Cauda.


Serpens is the snake being grasped by Ophiuchus, the Snake-Handler, q.v. Originally they were all one very large constellation.


Click here to learn more on this topic from eLibrary: