Latest Arden L. Bement, Jr. Stories

2010-10-01 11:14:33

The US Senate has confirmed Subra Suresh, President Barack Obama's nominee for director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), for a six-year term.

2010-03-10 09:01:35

NYU's Subhash Khot named NSF's 2010 recipient of its Alan T Waterman Award.

2010-01-30 08:22:08

The National Science Foundation (NSF) will hold a budget request briefing from 3 pm to 4 pm ET on February 1, 2010, at its headquarters at 4201 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, Va 22230.

2010-01-17 08:30:00

Worrisome trends show eroding US competitive advantage in the world science and engineering environment.

2009-10-05 14:00:13

National Science Foundation and Consortium for Ocean Leadership sign cooperative agreement for vast undersea observing network.

2009-09-19 08:16:05

President Obama named nine researchers as recipients of the National Medal of Science, and four inventors and one company as recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the highest honors bestowed by the United States government on scientists, engineers and inventors.

2009-07-29 15:05:50

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has selected University of Michigan historian Myron Gutmann, director of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, to head its directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE). The directorate supports research that builds fundamental knowledge of human behavior, interaction, social and economic systems, and organizations and institutions.

Word of the Day
  • A serpent whose bite was fabled to produce intense thirst.
The word 'dipsas' comes from a Greek word meaning 'thirst'.