Latest Walter Payton Stories

2011-07-11 11:42:00

PHILADELPHIA, July 11, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- (Sports Network) -- The race for the 2011 Walter Payton Award, sponsored by Fathead.com, kicked off with The Sports Network's announcement that six returning finalists from last season headline a stellar 20-player Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision's top individual honor. The Payton Award will celebrate its 25th anniversary this season and be presented to the FCS' outstanding player at the national awards banquet Thursday night,...

2011-03-22 13:22:00

PHILADELPHIA, March 22, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- (Sports Network) - The Sports Network announced today that the outstanding freshman player in the Football Championship Subdivision will be honored each season with the Jerry Rice Award, presented by TSN and sponsored by Fathead.com. This honor is named for the Hall of Fame wide receiver, acknowledged as one of the greatest players in football history. Rice is joining three other football legends whose names adorn the top individual awards in...

2011-01-07 08:00:00

FRISCO, Texas, Jan. 7, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- The Sports Network (TSN) - Jeremy Moses' record-setting passing ability often separated Stephen F. Austin from opposing teams. Thursday night, the senior quarterback separated himself in the 2010 Walter Payton Award balloting, securing more than two times as many first-place votes as any other candidate, while becoming the 24th annual winner of the Football Championship Subdivision's most prestigious award as the national player of the year. The...

2010-12-28 08:00:00

HATBORO, Pa., Dec. 28, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- The Sports Network (TSN) - It was announced today by The Sports Network, the nation's premiere real-time source and wire service for sports content, that Fathead, the leading brand in sports and entertainment wall graphics with thousands of officially licensed products, has become the official sponsor of the Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan and Eddie Robinson Awards. "Needless to say," stated Mickey Charles, President and CEO of TSN, "our...

2010-12-01 10:52:00

PHILADELPHIA, Dec. 1, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- Three outstanding quarterbacks who hope to cap their seasons in the NCAA Division I Championship Game next month already know they will make the trip to Frisco, Texas, for the announcement of the Walter Payton Award. Matt Barr of Western Illinois, Jeremy Moses of Stephen F. Austin and DeAndre Presley of Appalachian State have been invited to the 24th Annual Football Championship Subdivision Awards Presentation on Thursday, January 6. The Sports...

Word of the Day
  • A small crescent-shaped structure or marking, especially the white area at the base of a fingernail that resembles a half-moon.
This word is a diminutive of the Latin 'luna,' moon.