December 21, 2012

Charles Bennett and WMAP Team Win 2012 Gruber Prize

Johns Hopkins University astrophysicist Charles L. Bennett and members of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) space mission that he led will be presented with the Gruber Foundation’s 2012 Cosmology Prize on August 21 in Beijing, China. Bennett and the 26-member team are being recognized by the foundation for their transformative study of an ancient light dating back to the infant universe. So accurate and precise are WMAP’s results that they form the foundation of the Standard Cosmological Model.

credit:  John Hopkins University

Share on Linkedin Share on Google+